Spain: Parliament passes vote of no confidence against PM

In Spain, Parliament has passed vote of no confidence against Prime Minister Mariano Rajoy over corruption scandal.

Socialist leader Pedro Sanchez, who filed the motion after Rajoy's People's Party was implicated in a corruption scandal, will become Prime Minister.

Sanchez's motion won the support of 180 MPs in the 350-seat parliament. There was one abstention and 169 MPs opposed it.

During the second day of debate today, Rajoy admitted facing defeat and told MPs that it has been "an honour to leave a better Spain than I found".

Rajoy is the first prime minister in modern Spanish history to be defeated in a no-confidence motion.

The leader of the conservative People's Party has been prime minister since 2011.

Meanwhile, Catalan authorities in Spain announced their new cabinet today (Friday), paving the way for Madrid to end direct rule over the region by excluding four nominees under investigation for their role in its independence drive.

German prosecutors have formally applied to a higher regional court for the extradition of former Catalan leader Carles Puigdemont on charges linked to his role in the campaign for the region's independence.

It is now up to the higher regional court in Schleswig-Holstein to decide on the extradition.

Source: Radio Pakistan