Hockey World Cup begins in India

The 14th edition of the Hockey World Cup began in Bhubaneswar, India on Wednesday.

The mega event is featuring hosts India, Argentina, Australia, Belgium, Canada, England, Germany, Ireland, Malaysia, Netherlands, Spain, New Zealand and Pakistan.

The event will continue till 16th December.

The teams have been divided into four groups.

Group-A consists of Argentina, France, Spain and New Zealand.

Group-B comprises of Australia, England, Ireland and China.

Hosts India, Belgium, Canada and South Africa make up Group-C.

While, Group-D comprises of Pakistan, Germany, Netherlands and Malaysia.

Four-time champions Pakistan will begin their World Cup campaign on 1st of December against Germany.

Pakistan lifted the trophy in 1971, 1978, 1982 and 1994.

Source: Radio Pakistan