Afghanistan name squad for historic Test

Rashid Khan will lead a heavyweight spin attack for Afghanistan in the country's first-ever Test against India next month.

Afghan cricket board announced today that Khan and fellow spinners Mujeeb ur Rahman, Zahir Khan and Hamza Hotak are named in a 16-strong squad for the historic one-off Test in Bangalore starting from 14 of next month.

Khan was a star performer in the Indian Premier League with 21 wickets for Sunrisers Hyderabad, who lost in final to Chennai Super Kings.

Asghar Stanikzai will captain the Test debutants in the five-day game which will be preceded by three Twenty20 internationals against Bangladesh.

The T20 games will be played in the northern Indian city of Dehradun on 3, 5 and 7 of next month.

Afghanistan have had their training base in India since 2015, and were given Test status last year with Ireland, who lost their first five-day match to Pakistan earlier this month.

Source: Radio Pakistan